Discover World History in Wittenberg

Wittenberg is calling!

Wittenberg and surroundings

Lutherstadt Wittenberg and the entire region is inextricably linked with a name - the theologian Martin Luther. His understanding of the gospel has fundamentally changed the faith life of many Christians, and the founding of the evangelical church is, and is, today, almost 500 years later, an important orientation and invitation for many people to get to know the gospel. When you witness a service in the town church of St. Mary, Luther's preaching church, you will feel it yourself - the spirit of optimism, the strength and hope of the Reformation.

However, this exciting epoch 500 years ago was much more than that - Lutherstadt Wittenberg was the center of the social upheaval of the 16th century in politics, culture, art and education, whose testimonies you can discover throughout the region. As a team of Luther-Hotel Wittenberg, we look forward to accompanying you on a journey of discovery that brings history to life.

Comprehensive information about the city, tourist attractions and events in and around Lutherstadt Wittenberg can be obtained from the tourist information office of Lutherstadt Wittenberg.


Excursion destinations in the Wittenberg region

Bad Schmiedeberg

The spa town of Bad Schmiedeberg is a state-approved bog and mineral spa. Since 1878 spa guests have been treated and cared for in the Eisenmoorbad. However, the tourism region offers many more attractions and events. More information about the region can be found here.

Bad Schmiedenberg
Goitzsche - Bitterfeld - Wolfen

The former open pit area of ​​the lignite mining town of Bitterfeld has been flooded since 2002. The Goitzsche is a beautiful destination for hiking, cycling and sailing.


Goitze Wittenberg Hotel

Christian sights and places of activity of the reformers

Augusteum

Facade construction | Extension of the Leucorea | Hostel of the Protestant Priest Seminary

Named the front building of the Luther House after its founder Elector Augustus of Saxony (1526-1586). It was built from 1580 to 1582 as an extension to the Wittenberg University of Leucorea. Four years after the merger with the University of Halle in 1817, the Protestant seminary moved into the rooms. The later reformer Martin Luther had moved in 1508 as a monk to the "Black Monastery" in Wittenberg, which today is the museum and seat of the Foundation.

More information can be found here.

Augusteum Wittenberg Hotel
Cranachhäuser - höfe

Living and working places Lucas Cranachs | exhibition

Today's painting school in the Cranach workshop exists since 1996 in Cranach-Hof, Schlossstraße 1. This farm is located in the historic center of Wittenberg and was Cranach's most important possession. Here he and his son, Lucas Cranach the Younger, demonstrably maintained their large painting workshop. Many of his great works were created here, and it is still possible today to see artists working in their workshops at this historic place or to be creative in courses, projects or workshops.

More information can be found here.

Cranach Höfe Wittenberg Hotel

Bugenhagenhaus

Residence Johannes Bugenhagens | oldest evangelical parsonage in the world

The Wittenberg Bugenhagenhaus is the oldest Protestant parsonage in the world. It is one of the most important memorial sites of the Reformation and should therefore also be included in the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Until 1997, the Bugenhagenhaus had been a permanent home and workplace of the Wittenberg superintendents since the Reformation. Johannes Bugenhagen lived here as the first pastor of the Reformation until his death in 1558. The friend, mistress and pastor Martin Luther is next to this and melancholy as "the third reformer". With the help of his Low German language skills, the Reformation has reached northern Germany and Scandinavia. Johannes Bugenhagen is the author of numerous church orders.

Here you will find more informationen about the Bugenhagenhaus.

Bugenhagenhaus Wittenberg Hotel
Leucorea

Wittenberg University | Location of Martin Luther, Philipp Melanchtons u.v.a

 

The founding of the LEUCOREA Foundation in 1994 had the goal of reestablishing academic life in Wittenberg, at the site where 500 years ago one of Germany's most prestigious universities was opened. From here Luther and Melanchton initiated the Reformation.

 

 

Here you will find more information about the  Leucora University of Wittenberg!


Leucorea Wittenberg

Luthereiche

Burning of the pope's bull by Martin Luther 1520

It is located in the east of Wittenberg's old town, in a sandstone-enclosed area. The tree marks approximately the place before the Elsertor, on which Martin Luther burned on 10 December 1520 before Wittenberger students the Papal "Canonischen rights" and the Bannandrohungsbulle "Exurge Domine" of the pope Leo X. With the words, "Because you have blasphemed the saints of the Lord, then consume the everlasting fire," he also externally carried out the separation from the Roman church.



Luthereiche Wittenberg Hotel
Lutherhaus

UNESCO World Heritage | Residence Martin Luther. | the world's largest museum of the history of the Reformation

The permanent exhibition in the Lutherhaus offers you an encounter with the time of the Reformation. Around 1,000 original exhibits tell of the life and work of the reformer Luther, but also of his family life and his rich history of impact.

More information can be found here.

The Luther House will close in the period from 28 August 2016 to 03 March 2017. Information about the closure can be found here.

Lutherhaus Wittenberg

Luthergarten

Park of the Luterian World Alliance for the 500th anniversary of the Reformation with tree sponsorship from all over the world.

More information can be found here.


Luthergarten Wittenberg Hotel
Lutherweg

Pilgrim's way along Martin Luther's many places of work

The Luther Trail invites visitors to visit places of work of Martin Luther and other reformers and makes the history and effects of the Reformation tangible.

More information can be found  here.

Lutherweg Wittenberg Hotel

Marktplatz und Altes Rathaus

Center of Wittenberg Old Town | Monuments of Martin Luther and Philipp Melachthon

With the flourishing of the city of Wittenberg at the time of the Reformation, its population also increased. Therefore, the old original town hall no longer complied with the requirements now given, so that from 1521 under the direction of Bastian Kruger the preparations and from 1523 with the gradual construction of the town hall was begun. The construction was completed in 1541.
  


Altes Rathaus Wittenberg Hotel
Melanchthon-Haus

Unesco World Heritage | Home of Philipp Melachthon | Museum with permanent exhibition

Elector Johann Friedrich had the three-storey building built in 1536. He wanted to bind Philipp Melachthon, the teacher of Germany, to his university. The house provided space for Melachthon's family and students. In 1845, the Prussian state acquired the building and, in 1898/99, recreated the scholar's study and death room on the first floor.

More information can be found here.

Melanchthon Wittenberg

Schloss und Schlosskirche

UNESCO World Heritage | Theses of Martin Luther on October 31, 1517 | Graves Martin Luther and Philipp Melanchthons | To climb 88 meters high church tower

Visible from afar, the slender, 88-meter-high Schlosskirch tower rises from the silhouette of Lutherstadt Wittenberg and marks the western end of the old town. Approaching this castle steeple, one recognizes a filigree seemingly neo-gothic tower cap, under which a mosaic stones designed banner is on the meter-sized letters the words of the hymn Martin Luther "A stronghold is our God, a good weir and weapons" too are reading. Rather inconspicuously rises next to the castle church tower, the actual castle, on whose southern wing is also still a tower. The world-famous castle church is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and completes the entire object from the north side. She became famous when, on October 31, 1517, the hitherto almost unknown Wittenberg Augustinian monk and theology professor Martin Luther disseminated his 95 Latin disputation theses, which are regarded as triggers of the Reformation.

More information can be found here.

Schlosskirche Wittenberg
Stadtkirche St. Marien

Unesco World Heritage | Sermon church of Martin Luther Reformation altar and panel paintings Lucas Cranach | oldest building in Wittenberg

 

The parish church St. Marien zu Wittenberg in Lutherstadt Wittenberg is a parish church and is the preaching church of the reformers Martin Luther and Johannes Bugenhagen. Here the Holy Mass was celebrated for the first time in German and the Lord's Supper was first handed out to the congregation "in both forms", in bread and wine. The church is thus the mother church of the Reformation. Since 1996, the parish church of St. Mary has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Here you can find more  informaton about the Stadtkirche.

 

 

 

Stadtkirche Wittenberg

Cranach Altar

A series of valuable panels (epitaphs)

This altar by Lucas Cranach the Elder. (1472-1553) from 1547 is a particularly impressive testimony from the Reformation period. He is almost considered the Reformation altar.

Cranach Altar Wittenberg Hotel
Stiftung Christliche Kunst

Built to promote and nurture art and culture through the public exhibition of the Foundation's collection of classical modernist graphics with Christian themes in Lutherstadt Wittenberg.

More information can be found  here.

Stiftung Christliche Kunst

Reviews

Awards

Bed and Bike
Luther-Hotel Wittenberg

Weltgeschichte in Wittenberg entdecken

Wittenberg lockt!

Wittenberg und Umgebung

Lutherstadt Wittenberg und die gesamte Region ist untrennbar mit einem Namen verbunden - dem Theologen Martin Luther. Sein Verständnis des Evangeliums hat das Glaubensleben vieler Christen grundlegend verändert, die Gründung der evangelischen Kirche bewirkt und ist auch heute, fast 500 Jahre später, für viele Menschen eine wichtige Orientierungshilfe und Einladung, das Evangelium kennen zu lernen. Wenn Sie in der Stadtkiche St. Marien, Luthers Predigtkirche, einen Gottesdienst erleben, dann werden Sie sie selbst spüren - die Aufbruchstimmung, die Kraft und die Hoffnung der Reformation.

Diese spannende Epoche vor 500 Jahren war aber noch viel mehr - Lutherstadt Wittenberg war das Zentrum des gesellschaftlichen Aufbruchs des 16. Jahrhunderts in Politik, Kultur, Kunst und Bildung, dessen Zeugnisse Sie in der gesamten Region entdecken können. Wir als Team des Luther- Hotel Wittenberg freuen uns darauf, Sie auf einer Entdeckungsreise zu begleiten, die Geschichte lebendig macht.

Umfassende Informationen zur Stadt, touristischen Angeboten und den Veranstaltungen in und rund um Lutherstadt Wittenberg, erhalten Sie in der Tourist-Information der Lutherstadt Wittenberg.


Ausflugsziele in der Region Wittenberg

Bad Schmiedeberg

Der Kurort Bad Schmiedeberg ist ein staatlich anerkanntes Moor- und Mineralheilbad. Seit 1878 werden im Eisenmoorbad Kurgäste behandelt und betreut. Die Tourismusregion bietet jedoch noch viel mehr Attraktionen und Veranstaltungen. Mehr Informationen zur Region finden Sie hier.

Goitzsche - Bitterfeld - Wolfen

Das ehemalige Tagebaugebiet der Braunkohlestadt Bitterfeld ist seit 2002 geflutet. Die Goitzsche ist ein wunderschönes Ausflugsziel zum Wandern, Rad fahren und Segeln.


Christliche Sehenswürdigkeiten und Wirkungsstätten der Reformatoren

Augusteum

Schaufassadenbau | Erweiterungsbau der Leucorea | Herberge des ev. Prieserseminars

Benannt ist das Vordergebäude des Lutherhauses nach seinem Gründer Kurfürst August von Sachsen (1526-1586). Es wurde von 1580 bis 1582 als Erweiterungsbau für die Wittenberger Universität Leucorea errichtet. Vier Jahre nach der Fusion mit der Universität in Halle zog 1817 das Evangelische Predigerseminar in die Räume. Der spätere Reformator Martin Luther hatte 1508 als Mönch das "Schwarze Kloster" in Wittenberg bezogen, das heute Museum und Sitz der Stifung ist.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Cranachhäuser - höfe

Wohn- und Wirkungsstätten Lucas Cranachs | Ausstellung

Die heutige Malschule in der Cranach-Werkstatt existiert seit 1996 im Cranach-Hof, Schlossstraße 1. Dieser Hof befindet sich im historischen Stadtkern Wittenbergs und war Cranachs bedeutendster Besitz. Hier unterhielten er und sein Sohn, Lucas Cranach d.J., nachweislich ihre große Malwerkstatt. Hier entstanden viele seiner großen Werke und es ist auch heute möglich, an diesem geschichtsträchtigen Ort Künstler in ihren Werkstätten bei der Arbeit zuzusehen oder in Kursen, Projekten oder Workshops selbst schöpferisch tätig zu werden.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.


Bugenhagenhaus

Wohnhaus Johannes Bugenhagens | ältestes evangelisches Pfarrhaus der Welt

Das Wittenberger Bugenhagenhaus ist das älteste evangelische Pfarrhaus der Welt. Es gehört zu den bedeutsamsten Gedenkstätten der Reformation und soll darum ebenfalls in die Liste der UNESCO-Welterbestätten aufgenommen werden. Bis 1997 war das Bugenhagenhaus seit der Reformation ununterbrochen Wohn- und Wirkungsstätte der Wittenberger Superintendenten. Als erster Pfarrer der Reformation lebte Johannes Bugenhagen bis zu seinem Tod 1558 hier. Der Freund, Mistreiter und Seelsorger Martin Luthers gilt neben diesem und Melanchton als " Der dritte Reformator". Mit Hilfe seiner niederdeutschen Sprachkenntnisse ist die Reformation bis nach Norddeutschland und Skandinavien gelangt. Johannes Bugenhagen ist der Verfasser zahlreicher Kirchenordnungen.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Leucorea

Wittenberger Universität | Wirkungsstätte Martin Luthers, Philipp Melanchtons u.v.a

Die Gründung der Stiftung LEUCOREA 1994 hatte das Ziel, wieder akademisches Leben in Wittenberg zu etablieren, an jener Stelle, an der vor 500 Jahren eine der renomminiertesten Universitäten Deutschlands eröffnet wurde. Von hier aus leiteten Luther und Melanchton die Reformation ein.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.


Luthereiche

Verbrennung der Bannbulle des Papstes durch Martin Luther 1520

Sie befindet sich im Osten der Altstadt Wittenbergs, in einem mit Sandstein eingefassten Areal. Der Baum bezeichnet ungefähr die Stelle vor dem Elsertor, an der Martin Luther am 10. Dezember 1520 vor Wittenberger Studenten die päpstlichen "Canonischen Rechte" und die Bannandrohungsbulle "Exurge Domine" des Papstes Leo X. verbrannte. Mit den Worten "Weil du den Heiligen des Herrn gelästert hast, so verzehre dich das ewige Feuer" vollzog er auch äußerlich die Trennung von der römischen Kirche.

Lutherhaus

UNESCO Welterbe | Wohnhaus Martin Luthers | weltweit größtes reformations-geschichtliches Museum

Die Dauerausstellung im Lutherhaus bietet Ihnen eine Begegung mit der Zeit der Reformation. Rund 1.000 originale Exponate erzählen vom Leben und Werk des Reformators Luther, aber auch von seinem familiären Alltag und seiner reichen Wirkungsgeschichte.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Das Lutherhaus schließt in der Zeit vom 28. August 2016 bis 03. März 2017. Informationen zur Schließung erhalten Sie hier.


Luthergarten

Parkanlage des Luterischen Weltbundes zum 500-jährigen Reformationsjubiläum mit Baumpatenschaften aus aller Welt.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Lutherweg

Pilgerweg entlang vieler Wirkungsstätten Martin Luthers

Der Lutherweg lädt ein, Wirkungsstätten Martin Luthers und anderer Reformatoren zu besuchen und macht den Werdegang und die Auswirkungen der Reformation erlebbar.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.


Marktplatz und Altes Rathaus

Zentrum der Wittenberger Altstadt | Denkmäler Martin Luthers und Philipp Melachthons

Mit dem Aufblühen der Stadt Wittenberg zur Reformationszeit nahm auch deren Bevölkerung zu. Daher reichte das alte ursprüngliche Rathaus den nun gegebenen Anforderungen nicht mehr aus, so dass ab 1521 unter der Leitung von Bastian Krüger die Vorbereitungen und ab 1523 mit dem stufenweisen Aufbau des Rathauses begonnen wurde. Der Bau wurde 1541 abgeschlossen.

Melanchthon-Haus

Unesco Welterbe | Wohnhaus Philipp Melachthons | Museum mit Dauerausstellung

Kurfürst Johann Friedrich hat das dreigeschossige Gebäude 1536 errichten lassen. Damit wollte er Philipp Melachthon, den Lehrer Deutschlands, an seine Universität binden. Das Haus bot Raum für Melachthons Familie und für Studenten. 1845 erwarb die preußische Staat das Gebäude und ließ 1898/99 im ersten Obergeschoss das Studier- und Sterbezimmer des Gelehrten nachbilden.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.


Schloss und Schlosskirche

UNESCO Welterbe | Thesenanschlag Martin Luthers am 31. Oktober 1517 | Gräber Martin Luthers und Philipp Melanchthons | 88 Meter hoher Kirchturm zu besteigen

Weithin sichtbar erhebt sich der schlanke, 88 Meter hohe Schlosskirchturm aus der Silhouette der Lutherstadt Wittenberg und markiert das westliche Ende der Altstadt. Nähert man sich diesem Schlosskirchturm, erkennt man eine filigran anmutende neugotische Turmhaube, unter der sich ein mit Mosaiksteinen gestaltetes Spruchband befindet, auf dem in metergroßen Buchstaben die Worte des Kirchenliedes Martin Luthers "Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott, ein gute Wehr und Waffen" zu lesen sind. Eher unscheinbar erhebt sich neben dem Schlosskirchturm das eigentliche Schloss, an dessen südlichem Flügel sich ebenfalls noch ein Turmbau befindet. Die weltberühmte Schlosskirche ist Bestandteil des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes und schließt das gesamte Objekt von der Nordseite ab. Berühmheit erlangte sie, als am 31. Oktober 1517 der bis dahin nahezu unbekannte Wittenberger Augustinermönch und Theologieprofessor Martin Luther seine 95 lateinischen Disputationsthesen verbreitete, die als Auslöser der Reformation gelten.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Stadtkirche St. Marien

Unesco Welterbe | Predigtkirche Martin Luthers | Reformationsaltar und Tafelbilder Lucas Cranachs | ältestes Gabäude Wittenbergs

Die Stadt- und Pfarrkirche St. Marien zu Wittenberg in Lutherstadt Wittenberg ist als Bürgerkirche die Predigtkirche der Reformatoren Martin Luther und Johannes Bugenhagen. Hier wurde die Heilige Messe zum ersten Mal in deutscher Sprache gefeiert und das Abendmahl erstmals "in beiderlei Gestalt", in Brot und Wein, an die Gemeinde ausgeteilt. Die Kirche ist damit die Mutterkirche der Reformation. Seit 1996 gehört die Stadt- und Pfarrkirche St. Marien zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.


Cranach Altar

Eine Reihe wertvoller Tafelbilder (Epitaphien)

Dieser Altar von Lucas Cranach d.Ä. (1472-1553) aus dem Jahr 1547 is ein besonders eindrückliches Zeugnis aus der Reformationszeit. Er gilt geradezu als der Reformationsaltar.

Stiftung Christliche Kunst

Errichtet zur Förderung und Pflege von Kunst und Kultur durch die öffentliche Ausstellung der stiftungseigenen Sammlung von Grafiken der klassischen Moderne mit christlichen Themen in der Lutherstadt Wittenberg.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Bewertungen

Ausgezeichnet

Top Quality Siegel HRS
Luther-Hotel Wittenberg